#PLENK2010 PLENK & Network Metaphor

I shared the below post in my blog on CCK09, and may I share the same with PLENK here?

My observation so far is that our “network(s)” do exhibit some of the phenomena of singles and flocks of birds or schools of fish, when it comes to CCK08, CCK09, CritLit2010 and this PLENK course.  Some would prefer to fly individually in the sky, whilst others would fly with flocks of “birds”, flying freeing through the sky, with multi-directions, and multi-”guidance” at times, and then the way they go afterwards…. Others would like to go for a “swim”, like a school of fish, through the ocean, and explore the deep, deep world down the ocean(s), and across the different oceans, where they encounter big and small school of fishes of all kinds.  Are there any borders in these network exploration?  Where are the limits?  The sky?  The ocean? The clouds (cloud computing, artefacts, social media)?

Would the birds and fishes meet?  May be, if they want to. But it’s all up to the desires and needs of the individuals. There are more and more “clouds or tools” forming, sometimes blurring the flights of the birds, but often they would help in guiding the flight paths as “mediators or navigators”.  The traces (artefacts, URL, tools, media and techniques) left behind could often be used as guidance for others. Would that be the emergent learning?

Are the ”birds”, “fishes” self organising?  Will the “clouds” help in the flight journey? Any thoughts?

May be we are all just human behaving similar to the emergence of flocks of birds and school of fish, but we won’t see these ourselves unless we step out of our comfort zone, and look at ourselves swimming in the ocean, or flying ourselves with the planes, and we could see ourselves out from the outer space, realising how small our planet is….

Refer to more sharing from others in the forum in PLENK before and after

Enjoy these

Photos: from Flickr

3 thoughts on “#PLENK2010 PLENK & Network Metaphor

  1. Hi John,
    Really enjoyed reading the post and watching the videos. I remember thinking that network learning somewhat resembled the flocks of birds flying off the coast of England in that YouTube video that was posted in the forum early on in CCK09, and perhaps that is an emergent phase of network learning…. I am distracted by some thoughts about birds… so I will carry on… I love to watch the birds flying in flocks. I have many thoughts when I think of birds. I think of the old saying, “Birds of a Feather Flock Together.” I often walk by the river, and in the fall, I see flocks of geese, heron, robins, sparrows, and various other species fly to the trees or the marshes to feed, then fly south. Then I think of a couple of robins who were determined to build a nest on my porch last spring. I knocked the nest down, knowing that the cat next door loves to catch and eat robins who settle in that location. That pair of robins were determined to build that nest. They returned time and time again to that rebuild that nest, ignoring my warnings, until finally they were able to complete the nest over a weekend when I was away. I saw the nest, but I never saw even one live bird there. Not one robin’s egg hatched there. When I think of birds I think of Darwin’s Finches I think of the divergence within even one species of birds. I am reminded of this again when I find flickr photo of multicolored chicks subtitled, “Diversity Clucks.”
    Perhaps at some level learning is instinctual… like the flocking of birds…
    Later.

  2. Pingback: Power of Networks | Learner Weblog

Leave a Reply

