6 thoughts on “Distributed Learning Online

  1. Re: Slide #2 Old way vs. new way

    I don’t think distributed learning is anything new. I took correspondence courses many years ago from the University of Waterloo. They called it distance learning then. The tools have changed and have some new affordances, that’s all.

  2. Hi Ken,
    Interesting to reflect on this distributed learning.
    When I did a BSc in Maths by distance learning long time ago, the only resource available was the text book list given by the University. There wasn’t any lecturer/teacher for the course at all. I had to study and teach myself. I passed the examination (Part I) at the time. Just to add that I was also studying an Engineering course in Polytechnic at the time, but the subject syllabuses on Maths were totally different.

    Was it based on a “new model” of learning at the time? I enjoyed studying in solitude. Was it similar to your study with the correspondence course?

    However, I think it was much harder to study in such a way, as I had to be the “sensemaker”, “wayfinder” and learned the subjects by myself.

    In my Masters and postgraduate studies, I had also experienced a lot of those learning in Slide 2, as I always liked to combine formal education with informal learning throughout my past studies. May be it is still new learning to others.

    I am still pondering on the meaning of distributed learning https://suifaijohnmak.wordpress.com/2011/03/03/cck11-the-flow-of-connectivism/

  3. Hi John. Interesting comment by LTA Burble on this blog about distance learning and connectivism:

    http://rhconnections.posterous.com/is-there-something-missing

    In my distance education, I received a package of resources by mail, and at the end of the course attended an exam centre to write a three hour exam. The resources included textbook(s), course notes, assignment guides etc. along with 20 lectures recorded on audio-cassettes. Each course required the submission of 2-4 assignments or papers during the course. I enjoyed this method as I could do the study when I had time, rather than attending a classroom at a specific time and date. It was asynchronous in that regard, although there were fixed times for the assignments to be mailed in and for the examination.

  4. Hi Ken,
    Wow, you have an interesting learning experience. So, you preferred distance education and learning over classroom delivery.
    Thanks for the referred post. Will look into “what is missing” later.

  5. Hi John. I preferred the distance education at the time because I was working shift work and couldn’t make it to a regularly scheduled class. I enjoy the community of classroom learning too. So I find online communities of learning good because there is the community aspect along with the opportunity for asynchronous participation. I like to participate on my timetable, not always at a scheduled time.

  6. Hi Ken,
    Thanks for your further sharing of learning experience. I think I learn more with such sharing, as this opens up my views on how others (each of us) have learnt – through distance education, community of classroom learning etc. It is a pity that not too many of “us” would share our stories of learning more deeply in the networks or blogs, despite our immersion in these media for some time. May be there are all sorts of reasons for sharing/not-sharing, but I reckon we all would benefit from such sharing🙂

Leave a Reply

