Competence and Capability Model

Interesting to learn about this competence model.

Picture: From the above post

and

That is a wonderful model to start with, assessing the performance integrated into the Practice at work at a “does” level.  I think it aligns with the on-the-job training paradigm too.

There are however a few areas of “doing” which would need to be developed, especially when learning with tools and technology in the workplace, and with others.  These could include the use of Web 2.0 and PLE/N as a means to further develop the practice, and refine the metacognitive skills, sense-making and way finding, which would also allow for the development of further networking practice and community building at an expert level.  Such competence would also include emotional intelligence – self awareness, self control, interpersonal skills, motivation, empathy, social skills, negotiation skills, and critical thinking.  These competences are then developed as a capacity for learning for the professional in his or her life long learning journey.

I would need to compare this model with the various models of learning as shared here on Mastery Learning and Bloom’s Taxonomy:

I have once suggested this model on teaching and learning, and I wonder if that may then provide some strategies for facilitation and learning in a complex learning environment.

Here is the slideshare

George Siemens has also suggested this model on Technology Enhanced Knowledge and Learning.

Further models of learning are now focussed on Learning Analytics as shown below:

Which model is most appropriate for your situation? Why?

5 thoughts on “Competence and Capability Model

  1. Pingback: #CCK11 My experience with Connectivism and Networked Learning | Learner Weblog

  2. Hello John,
    I enjoyed your Slideshare explanation of the learning types . Learning style preferences are of particular interest to me both with respect to my own learning preferences and the learning of my students. I particularly enjoyed reading your suggestions for maintaining a sense of balance by collaboration between different types. At the risk of shameless self promotion which doesn’t fit well with my strong preference for introversion, I responded to your post with some musings of my own: http://odetoserendipity.blogspot.com/2011/03/its-all-balancing-act.html
    You are a prolific, reflective writer. I am in awe of your level of productivity. You must rarely sleep. Thank you for all the reflection your blog generates in others. As Ken Anderson commented once: “you are a good teacher John because you always question.” For me it’s all about balance between asking questions of ourselves and of others.🙂

  3. Hi Susan,
    Thanks for your compliment. I share your views on the importance of learning style preferences and an individual in the networks. I also enjoy reading your post weaving together the various tools that would help in understanding our preferences. I did the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator too, and it was interesting to reflect on the preference that was identified.
    I do sleep, though sometimes I could be spending hours in writing up blog posts. My hobby is still in writing.

    There is a common thread that I could associate with you, that I also have a strong preference for introversion. So, I don’t want any self-promotion. I prefer sharing and learning. That’s my passion.

    I am also delighted to learn with you, even after PLENK2010. Looking forward to more conversation with you. John

Leave a Reply

