#CCK11 What is the value of memory?

I enjoyed reading Donald’s post relating to Tony Buzan: True or False.

To me, good memory could be good for good things, but bad for remembering the traumas, conflicts, the wars, if nothing is learnt through such moments, leaving the negative aspects of them untouched. So are the mindmaps, which might only provide episodes of the mind (in forms of schema) in a conceptually related map. It’s only when one reflects on the significance of such mindmap that would lead to a deeper understanding of the meaning behind those moments of learning. I reckon mind mapping is a natural emergence, and so it is not an invention by anyone. Memory is now available also in the “clouds”, and so is the mindmap on the internet. So mindmaps cannot be “copyrighted” and regulated any more. It’s the open sharing without boundaries that keeps human connected with such “mindmap” inherent in conversation, where we are all part of it in this connected world of communities and internet. I don’t see the need of memorising all the “facts” in order to live meaningfully.

I would only sigh if people are still thinking mindmaps would make them rich and famous. May be that is their choice. I believe that our altruistic mindset is more valuable in human evolution, rather than the mindset of mindmap as a commodity.

3 thoughts on “#CCK11 What is the value of memory?

  1. Hi John,
    While I follow psychologists’ discussions of attention, perception, recall, episodic and crystalized ‘memory’, etc. I tend to favor the philosophers where memory is concerned. I agree with you, one won’t get rich or famous by producing mindmaps alone. There has to be rich substance to accompany the map. I have shared with you that I enjoy reading Paul Ricoeur. Ricoeur has a great book, which you may have read or may someday read, entilted History, memory, and forgetting. The French version is much shorter than the English translation.
    Be well.

  2. Hi Mary,
    Thanks for sharing your wonderful insights. Yes, memory is important for personal learning. Refer to this video http://youtu.be/grZuwo_YlY0 Mindmapping is one way to categorise and integrate concepts (based on information, ideas etc.) and could be useful to strengthen our memory and conceptual connection capacity when one relates the different concepts and starts organising them to make meaningful learning. Rich substance to accompany the map is important, I agreed. Would like to read the book you recommended.

    This video may be of interest to you http://youtu.be/r2wYcFnTkgo

    John

  3. Hi John,
    People encode information into memory in very different ways. That is why I suppose psychologists have tried to label things–episodic memory… you remember a whole host of details related to an event–Bruner suggests thasst people encode information in narrative modes, stories, and in paradigmatic modes, explanations. I think that I have always used mapping, images, and drawings to encode memories, and for planning papers and presentations. but I know that my own memory is organized visually, and I catalog things into a visual index and search and retrieve information in a way that seems to operate more like an encyclopedia. Several member of my family have what seems to be photographic memories–they see or even hear something once and bam…. it is encoded, and moreover they can easily retrieve information when they are writing, speaking, and problem-solving, making decisions, or called upon to critique the information. Some psychologists talk about false memories, in other words, when the memories are retrieved, the individual pulls up facts or details that can’t be proven to be true. The woman who can’t forget seems to have a memory for details, and that kind of memory, she reports, troubles her.
    I hope you do get a chance to read Ricoer’s book. I read it first in the French version, and I am getting a very different perspective on the material when I read it in translation. Interesting, no?

Leave a Reply

