#Change11 Are we really alone in virtual space?

This video on Alone together by Sherry Turkle sounds interesting.

This message is clear, that real life conversation is relatively more important than the mere texting using mobile phones. Also beware that there are many young people who are addicted to the use of mobile phones, or immersion in the social networks.

My immediate response is simple: I am not a mobile phone user, so Blackberry is out of my mind.  I am concerned about the radiation in the use of mobile phone, as so in the past, even when I used mobile phone for work, I didn’t spend more than a minute on the conversation.  I am also a poor mobile texter, so I won’t respond to text messages in return.

But how about my colleagues and relatives?  Nearly everyone got a mobile phone, and it seems that most love to chat or text with mobiles.   It has become a habit for many people in using mobiles for all sorts of purposes – virtual games, applications, social networking, facebooking, twittering, etc.

So, a review of some researches would easily reveal what is happening –

Teens and social media: An overview

Social media & mobile internet use among teens and young adults

I haven’t finished in this review yet, so more to come.

One thought on “#Change11 Are we really alone in virtual space?

  1. Pingback: #Change11 Are we really alone in virtual space? | Digital Delights | Scoop.it

Leave a comment