#Change11 #CCK12 Is Connectivism credible for Advanced Degrees Research

I read this post by Sarah on

Is Connectivism a credible theoretical framework for my EdD research?

This is a challenging one, as least to me.

First, I must declare that I am not doing any research degrees, and so my comments here are based solely on my experience with Connectivism.

I have been interested in the theory, application and research on Connectivism since 2008. I understand that there has been a lot of debates about Connectivism, and that there hasn’t been any “agreement” from the academia or scholars that it is a new learning theory.

Here is my short response:

My short “answer” is: Could Connectivism explain your “formal” education? Would you be assessed against models and criteria based on a formal EdD? I think it depends on what your research entails, not whether it is a theory or not in your research. When I conducted research on CCK08 and PLENK2010, I would never use such a lens to “please” any examiners, under a formal education system, because, for sure, you wouldn’t be able to pass the criteria (even in your proposal) if someone tells you that he/she doesn’t believe or agree that it is a new learning theory. I would call myself fortunate (and am really grateful to my colleagues on the researches that we have done) that all papers were published that easily, with just a slight amendment to minor points in the peer review process. I don’t think it is that difficult to get your research published with the traditional education and learning theories, as a backup. However, with Connectivism, you must be ready for the challenges ahead, and I don’t know who would be reviewing and examining your dissertation. So good luck.

Relating to the similarities and differences between Connectivism and Constructivism, I have shared them here and here.

6 thoughts on “#Change11 #CCK12 Is Connectivism credible for Advanced Degrees Research

  1. Thanks John. The other problem I have is my potential supervisors do not know or understand connectivism. This is an opportunity because it means I have to be really articulate about my own understanding. At the same time, it is wearing having to justify yourself all the time and have supervisors who do not believe or understand you. I am not looking to take the easy way out…but I do want to be well supported.

  2. Hi Sarah, I am totally with you. If you are to satisfy the requirements from your supervisors, then you must ensure that your research is truly open, transparent, rigorous enough to show that your approach is GROUNDED on Connectivism and that it works. Otherwise, I wonder if your hypothesis could be “proven” with the theory of Connectivism. Explaining to potential supervisors who do not know, understand or appreciate Connectivism is like moving mountains. You could still do it, but I can’t be sure if that would be a challenge to your supervisors too, if they haven’t learnt or applied it at work, or have too little experience, to arrive to a judgement that is based on a formal system. There are many assumptions here, and I think the best way is to discuss with your supervisor what he/she thinks, and to share your thoughts with any interested parties concerned, just like what you have been doing. Openness and transparency is one of the guiding principles of Connectivism. If people don’t like or share it, then you better consider other options, IMHO.
    John

  3. Pingback: #Change11 #CCK12 Is Connectivism credible for Advanced Degrees Research | Educación a Distancia (EaD) | Scoop.it

  4. Pingback: Is Connectivism credible for Advanced Degrees Research | Connectivism | Scoop.it

  5. Pingback: #Change11 #CCK12 Is Connectivism credible for Advanced Degrees Research | Digital Delights | Scoop.it

  6. Pingback: #Change11 #CCK12 Is Connectivism credible for Advanced Degrees Research | gpmt | Scoop.it

Leave a comment