CCK09 Assessment online using a community approach

In this What about Assessment by Tracy, she writes: “We do have a shaky sense of “objectivity” in grading that we don’t like to talk about much. Unless there are clear right and wrong answers (which there are sometimes, but very often NOT), it gets muddy.” I think it depends on what we are assessing. And more importantly, why assessment based on right and wrong answers in an online environment?

Downes writes:

I commented, and not purely in jest, when talking about assessment. I want to change the system of assessment in schools because right now we have tests and things like that that are scrupulously fair, particularly distance learning where we outline the objectives the performance metrics and the outcomes and all of that. I want to scrap that system. I want testing to be done by at random by comments from your peers and other people and strangers based on no criteria whatsoever and applied unequally and unfairly.

And people say, “Well, why would you want that?”

And I said, “Well, that’s the way the world works.”

If we are assessing online learning, what would be the ideal and practical way of assessing? For instance, Jenny, Roy and I have completed the research on (a) blogs and forums as communication and learning tools in MOOC and (b) the ideals and reality of MOOC on CCK08.  We have suggested a peer review on our 2 research papers as posted in the CCK09 forum from CCK08 and 09 participants.  Would this be an assessment on us as a team by the network (community of CCK08 and CCK09)? Would this help us (our research group) and the community in finding ways in assessment on research and learning?  We are greatly thankful to those who have provided us with valuable comments.

If we are assessing people (networkers) online about creativity, innovation, technology and critical thinking skills, then a more holistic approach using a community peer review and assessment may be more beneficial to the networkers and the community.  The repurposing, recreating and remixing of ideas and contents using various tools, story telling, videos making, and blog posting would stimulate the networker(s) to develop new and useful resources and thus contribute to the community.   

This would add value to the community in terms of social capital.  This would further encourage more networkers to participate and engage in social networking as they find it both fun and enjoyable not only to consume such resources, but to contribute in the production of resources, and to cooperate with others in networks.   Wouldn’t it be the ideal way of developing educators and learners through such cooperative and collaborative efforts, activities or projects in the networks?

Tracy said:” if I was taking cck09 for credit (and thus, actually doing the assignments), would I be OK with my peers in that course”

For me, sure! I would be happy if my blog, forum posts and other artefacts be openly critiqued and evaluated by others. This would not only help me in developing myself, by being open and responsive to others’ comments and feedback, but would provide some insights for me to help and develop my learners in their course of study. 

Learning and assessment is about action – by connecting and interacting with others.

In this post on Connectivism The Multiple Choice that I wrote last year Oct 7, 2008:

3. For me to respond to connectivism and answer why it is a new theory.

1.  Write a paper

2. Communicate with my readers in a clear concise manner – start with this draft

3. Communicate, collaborate and cooperate with stakeholders, participants, and negotiate

4. Connect with the networks

5. Explain a complex learning theory – connectivism in a simple way

So, I have set up some assessment criteria for me to achieve.  Have I achieved them all?  Still I am on this journey, I suppose.

Besides, I think an e-portfolio approach would be useful for my learning.

In summary, I am finding that network assessment would be part of my learning journey.  It is part of the learning, not just a project, an artefact, or an eportfolio.  

Again from Downe’s post:

And the more I thought about this, you know, I struggle with myself all the time and I wonder, was it indoctrination or were they right? And after many years, I’ve come to the conclusion they were right. And so there is this idea of the network, there is this idea of distinctness and diversity in an environment where people are encouraged not to be the same, but to be different. I like to think I have fulfilled my teacher’s expectation, having internalized the encouragement not to consume and to absorb the message from the mass media, but to create, to be that media, to be the artist, to be the writer, to be the videographer.

I would resonate that network provides a wonderful media for me to be part of, to learn with and be assessed.  I love to be that part of the media too.

In this Dave’s post on Overcoming obstacles – a practical guide he writes:

Overcoming obstacles – learning communities
You can’t collaborate alone (JM). Find learning communities. Connect with other people like you. You can all come to edtechtalk, we’d love to have you. There are tons of other great ways to communicate. Find one (or several) you like. If you are at all careful IT WILL SAVE YOU TIME. seriously.

I found it most useful in assessment and learning.

Have you found your learning community?

Are you comfortable with such peer online assessment?  What are the challenges?   How would you overcome those challenges?

John

2 thoughts on “CCK09 Assessment online using a community approach

  1. Hey John, I really like/appreciate how you weave things together in your posts.

    And I mean that, I’m not just illustrating the next point, which is: do you feel like you get “assessed” in some (perhaps informal/non-teacher-centred kind of way) in cck09? e.g., people comment on your posts, reference your posts in theirs, engage in the discussion topics you raise, start following you on twitter, etc? is that some kind of assessment/evaluation of your work? if we turn the “criteria” on its ear (e.g., no longer talking about traditional academic criteria, what’s an “A” paper and all that), and instead talking about how your work contributes to the network, is that “enough”, for you as a “learner” or “member” or “node” or whatever? (for what, i’m not sure..?). i guess we start to get into the question of whether “valuable” feedback must come from an “expert”, and what it means to be an “expert”, anyway…

  2. Great guestion Tracy. Thanks for your kind words. I enjoy learning by connecting, engaging and interacting with others like you in the network, at a social level. I also like to reflect personally on the comments on my posts and that really makes me think more deeply on what others think and perceive. That’s part of the life-long learning, and I could also evaluate my work via this community approach towards assessment. Yes, I have moved away from the traditional academic criteria of just grading on a paper or a piece of work, when it comes to assessment in the networks. As assessment is about collection of evidences, so would we like to be transparent in such evidence collection too? Would that also reflect the spirit of e-portfolio in action?
    I value feedback coming from everyone that I am interacting with, including you, as part of the PLN/E or VLN. So valuable feedback needs not come from an expert, I suppose.
    What it means to be an expert? What are the criteria of an expert? Do we need to be an expert? For some people, they may benefit more from interacting with “experts” when it relates to certain knowledge domains. When it comes to social/networked learning, I think we need more than just “experts’ advice”, i.e. we need PLN/E and sensemaking, in filtering the information, in repurposing, remixing and recreating “knowledge”, wayfinding through the networks, and networking with others for sharing of learning and getting feedback.
    I think we are all learners and nodes of networks, though we may each have our own expertise. So, we are all accompanying each other in this journey of learning through the network. That’s already an enjoyable experience for me.
    Relating to contribution, I think everyone is contributing, and sharing in our CCK09 and global network, in various ways. Some participants may be more comfortable in sharing through blogs, twitter, or forum postings, whilst others may prefer to observe and lurk.
    How about your view on expert? And your view on assessment.
    Thanks again for your visit.
    John

Leave a comment