#Change11 Is Connectivism a New and Emerging Learning Theory?

As a disclosure, I am a believer in Connectivism as a New Learning Theory. My stance has remained, since I attended CCK08, and then all other MOOCs. I also trust that Connectivism could make a difference, in education and learning, by truly embracing the human nature of learning as a network phenomena, with a distributed learning and knowledge based on network personally and socially. I understand that this is also a critical moment and a transitional period where huge changes (like transformation) in education are imminent, due to the economic, social and ecological pressures, and cries for innovation and improvement in education, research and learning in communities and society. The theory of Connectivism, however, is not subject without critics, as mentioned in my past post. As an educator and researcher who has a belief in its potential in transforming education and learning practice, it is equally important to reveal the findings, the observations, and critics of others, so as to ensure that Connectivism is critically assessed, reviewed, and put into test, with the theory and principles proposed. This accounts for my postings of both the merits and demerits of Connectivism in theory and practice, as shared by our colleagues in the network. This would also allow us to sense through the learning theory with a critical lens, and not just believe in whatever the principles are postulated. In other words, we need to be critical about assumptions behind each learning theory postulated, including Social Constructivism, Connectivism, or COPs and need to raise questions about the theory, application, implications, and limitations. I reckon this is based on emerging learning and research practice, and is part of digital scholarship too.

I will continue to share and report on the findings relating to Connectivism in future posts and papers.

Is Connectivism a New and Emerging Learning Theory.  It’s your call now in this Change11.

If someone asked me about my education and learning, I would sing:

How about You?